10.—Populations of Electoral	Districts	According to	the	Representation Ac	ct				
of 1933—concluded.									

Province and Electoral District.	1931 Popu- lation.	Province and Electoral District.	1931 Popu- lation.	Province and Electoral District.	1931 Popu- lation,
Alberta—con. Jasper-Edson Lethbridge Macleod Medicine Hat Peace River Red Deer Vegreville Wetaskiwin	47,394 44,708 44,325 40,986 43,761 39,758 47,768 45,330	Comox-Alberni Fraser Valley Kamloops Kootenay E Kootenay W Nanaimo	694,263 26,094 28,379 31,377 29,249 25,662 32,556 45,767 59,170	· Vancouver S Victoria	30,391 59,583 65,683 58,921 48,906 63,122 48,599

Subsection 5.--The Dominion Franchise.*

It was provided by the B.N.A. Act, 1867, that, until otherwise directed by Parliament, elections to the House of Commons should be governed by the electoral laws of the several provinces. The qualifications of electors throughout the Dominion consequently remained the same for both Dominion and provincial elections until, in 1885, Parliament legislated on the subject by passing the Electoral Franchise Act (1885, c. 40). That Act defined a uniform qualification for voters throughout Canada for Dominion purposes, the basis of this new franchise being the ownership or occupation of and of a specified value, although the sons of owners. and particularly farmers' sons, were given the right to vote on special conditions; each province, of course, continued separately to define the qualifications of voters at provincial elections. This Dominion franchise remained in force for thirteen years, but between 1898 and 1920, under the Franchise Act of the former year (1898, c. 14), the provincial franchises were again made applicable at Dominion elections, except that on the constitution of the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan it was provided that manhood suffrage, which had already been adopted for the Northwest Territories under an Act to amend the N.W.T. Act (1895, c. 16), should continue in force for Dominion purposes independently of any action that might be taken by the newly elected legislatures of these two provinces (R.S.C. In the other provinces the rules as to the qualifications of 1906, c. 6, ss. 31-65). voters varied from time to time. In Manitoba manhood suffrage had been adopted in 1888 (1888, c. 2), and the franchise was extended to women on the same terms as to men in 1916 (1916, c. 36). Alberta and Saskatchewan, on their establishment as provinces, continued the previously existing manhood suffrage and both extended the franchise to women on the same terms as to men in 1916 (Alta. 1916, c. 5; Sask. British Columbia adopted manhood suffrage in 1904 (1903-1904, 1916, c. 37). c. 7), Ontario in 1907 (7 Edw. VII, c. 5), and New Brunswick in 1916 (6 Geo. V, c. 16); in British Columbia (1917, c. 23) and in Ontario (7 Geo. V, c. 5), the franchise was extended equally to women in 1917, and in New Brunswick this was done in 1919 (9 Geo. V, c. 63). In Quebec and Prince Edward Island the provincial franchises throughout the period in question were not so wide; in neither were women admitted to vote and certain property or other special qualifications were required in each. A property qualification was also required in Nova Scotia until 1920 (10-11 Geo. V, c. 49), but between 1918 and 1920 men and women had voted on The adoption of the provincial franchise laws for equal terms (9 Geo. V, c. 3). Dominion purposes was temporarily modified by the War Times Elections Act (1917, c. 39), which admitted certain near female relatives of serving soldiers and

^{*}Revised by John Thompson, Dominion Franchise Commissioner.